Thursday, June 30, 2016

Last Zone Conference with President Waddoups

It was another long week haha we had a lot of stuff to do but I look
back and I'm like dang.... It was a long week this week.

On Wednesday we were in Palermo because we had zone conference. It was
the last zone conference for our mission president. We get a new one
this next week which is cool but it's sad for President Waddoups to
go. The conference was really short and it was more like "Bye
President" conference haha it was good though. After conference I
bought a really cool cream colored felt blazer. It's my new favorite
thing.

There was a car show in Sciacca again. I don't have any pictures right
now but I'll send them out later because my comp has them on his
camera. Anyway, in a little city near Sciacca there was a race with
old Fiat 500's. For those who don't know it's like the classic old
small Italian car. But these ones were all supped-up and went real
fast. It was pretty cool. We couldn't go to see the race because it
was Sunday morning and we have to go to Church Sunday morning
soooo we weren't able to go.

Today for PDAY we went to Palermo for some good ole zone soccer. My
team killed it. I scored a goal. It was a good day to say the least.
Afterwards I ate some classic Sicilian food. #arancine and
#cassatasiciliana. It's good stuff. If you have time and don't know
what I'm talking about, look it up.

Also, for those who don't know, Italy won their first two games in the
UEFA Euro Cup. The first against Belgium 2-0 and the second against
Sweden 1-0. Italians love soccer. (Obviously) So for the Belgium game
we got a table outside a pizzeria and watched the game on a projector.
It was a very Italian thing to do and it was so much fun!

Anyway, it was a good week. I'm having fun. Losing weight because we
walk so much. That's a good thing tho. Love you all. Have a good week!
Ciao ciao


Anziano Yskes


Sciacca



Car Show in Sciacca








Saturday, June 18, 2016

A Visit to Caltabellotta

Heeelloooooo,

Let's see.... Uhhhh nothing super crazy happened this week, I guess. I
mean we got to take a trip up to this city called Caltanissetta. It's
basically in the center of Sicily. I had the splendid opportunity to
do a baptismal interview for the missionaries there. It was cool.
Everything for the interview went well and we even got to play a nice
game of monopoly with the other missionaries. I lost but anyways, I like
going to visit other missionaries cuz it can get a lil lonely some
times when it's just you and your comp by yourselves for a week. So it
was a nice "break"

Also we figured out this week that typical "sciaccitana" pizza is
basically a pizza without cheese and then add onions and anchovies.
Imma just say that even in Italy anchovies aren't very good. With that
said, it wasn't the worst pizza I've ever eaten but I wouldn't
recommend it to a friend either. Unless they were a fan of anchovies
them go for it haha.

This week for PDAY we went to this city in the mountains called
"Caltabellotta", a really old city dating back to the first century BC.
So it's old. Filled with small streets and lots of steep hills. It was
a good visit though and reminded me how lucky I am to be here in Italy
haha.

Our mission president told us not to tell him that it's hot in Sicily.
So Imma tell you guys. It's hot here. Not like super crazy hot but
it's hot and 99% humid. Perks of living on the ocean haha. Everyone is
like going to the beach and we are just walking around sweating like
dogs haha. On the bright side our apartment has an A/C unit so that
keeps our bedroom cold. Other than that we just have a few fans. It's
good though, the house stays pretty cool.

In other news everyone here seems to want to ask us our opinions about
the presidential campaign in America. A lotta people here don't like
Trump in case you are wondering. I tell them up to this point I don't
have an opinion cuz I live in Italy and I'm not following the race
(the truth). They don't like that answer. But moral of the story, I
think more people outside of America are following the race than
Americans. Idk why but people love American politics.

Anyways I’m doing good here in Sciacca. I am living the dream and loving
every day of it. Hope you guys all have a good week. Stay safe. Don't
do drugs. All that good stuff.


Anziano Yskes

Caltabellotta








Sunday, June 12, 2016

Un uccellino che non mi vuole bene

Hey fam,

So idk how the title of this email will translate on google but if ya
get what I'm saying it kinda describes this week ha-ha. But I'm going
to describe kinda how this week went with an experience that I had
Saturday night. So after a night of talking to people about how we
teach English and what not, we had decided to start walking and then I
felt something hit me in the head. I didn't think much of it because
we were walking under trees so I figured it was a lil fruit or
something. But then my companion started laughing and I soon realized
that it wasn't fruit. A bird had pooped on my head.

I'd say it was a long week but even when I say that time goes by so
fast here that it doesn't even really matter ha-ha. Even though this
week didn't go how we thought, nor how we wanted, there were still
some cool things that happened. For example, we bought a charcoal
grill for the house for €10 ($11) and today we are going to be
grilling with it so that's neat. Then on Saturday (I think) there was
a random car show in Sciacca which was basically a bunch of Ferraris
and other old cars. Definitely can't complain about seeing that ha-ha.
Before we made it to where the car show was we saw this random Ferrari
pass us and I was like "THATS A FERRARI" and this Italian dude saw me
and was like "non si trova quella in America" which means "can't find
that in America." I laughed. He's kinda right.

So usually I don't talk about specifics in missionary work but I kinda
feel like I should share this experience we had Sunday. So a guy from
English Course invited us over for dinner. He wasn't really into
talking about religion but he likes us and Southern Italians are very
hospitable people and like feeding their friends food. So we went over
to his house and then after we ate he was like "so tell me about your
church" and I'm like "okay." Hahaha so we talked about the church,
gave him a Book of Mormon. And I liked his thought process because
it's similar to mine. He's like "I'll read it. What do I have to lose?
If it's true than I've found truth. If it's not true I've also found
truth because now I know it's not true." And I was like "swag" (these
aren't exact quotes) but in the end it's true. Everyone is so scared
to read the "Mormon Bible" but what do you have to lose? Nothing. You
will only gain knowledge. So yeah.

In the end it wasn't the greatest week in the world but it could
always be worse. This next week will hopefully be better. But I don't
wanna jinx anything so we will stop there. Anyways, love all of you
and hope you have a good week!


Anziano Yskes

Bird Poop :-((



Car Show